Advanced Wilderness First Aid (40h)

This training now represents the minimum standard for outdoor professionals working in wilderness environments. It is highly recommended for any worker who is working in the wilderness. The content of the course goes well beyond urban first aid programs and covers in depth the specific aspects of first aid in remote areas beyond the reach of emergency medical services.

Topics covered

WFA theory and practice, with a special emphasis on accident scene management, group leadership, rescuer responsibility and liability, prevention of injuries, advanced first aid kits, wound management and managing the trauma victim

Included* : CPR-AED, Level C (Adult, Child and Infant).

*The CPR-AED module is mandatory for SIRIUSMEDx certification. It is included in our courses

COURSE OUTLINE

Cost and duration 

$ 505 / 4 days 

Course Format
  • The Advanced Wilderness First Aid training is usually given over a 4-day period, 8 hours per day, with 4-hour evening sessions on Day 1 and Day 3. It is also possible to build a course schedule according to the group needs.

  • Courses include classroom theory, as well as practical activities and realistic simulations to develop the required skills.

  • Almost half of the course hours are devoted to practical activities
Prerequisite
  • No previous first aid experience is required

  • Participants must be in good physical condition.
Evaluation                     
Participants' knowledge and skills are assessed throughout the training through review sessions, tests and exams, and ongoing evaluation of skill acquisition. Participants' knowledge and skills are also assessed on the last day of training through a multiple-choice and practical exam.
Certification
The certificate is valid for three years. SIRIUSMEDx issues a digital certification recognizing your knowledge.
Recertification

In order to requalify, before your certification expires, you must follow :

    • Wilderness First Aid (WFA-20h)
    • OR
    • Hybrid Advanced Wilderness FIrst Aid Recertification
    • OR
    • Advanced Wilderness First Aid (AWFA-40h)

Secourisme avancé en régions isolées (40h)

Cette formation représente désormais la  norme minimale des professionnels du plein air qui travaillent dans des milieux sauvages . Il est fortement recommandé à tout travailleur qui travaille en régions isolées. Le contenu du cours dépasse largement celui des programmes de secourisme en milieu urbain et il approfondit les aspects propres aux premiers soins administrés dans des régions reculées hors d’atteinte des services médicaux d’urgence

Contenu

Les notions théoriques et pratiques du secourisme en régions isolées, plus particulièrement la prise en charge de la situation, le leadership, les obligations et responsabilités du secouriste, la prévention des blessures, les trousses de premiers soins spécialisées, les soins de plaies et la prise en charge des victimes de traumatismes.

Inclus* : RCR-DEA grand public, Niveau C (Adulte, enfant et bébé).

*Le module RCR-DEA est obligatoire pour obtenir une certification SIRIUSMEDx. Il est inclus dans nos cours.

PLAN DE COURS

Coût et durée

505$ / 4 jours

Cadre du cours
  • La formule traditionnelle de la formation Secourisme avancé en régions isolées est donnée sur une période de 4 jours, à raison de 8 heures par jour, avec des séances de 4 heures en soirée au Jour 1 et au Jour 3. Il est aussi possible de bâtir un horaire de cours selon les besoins du groupe.

  • Les formations comportent de la théorie vue en classe, ainsi que des activités pratiques et des simulations réalistes visant l’acquisition des compétences requises.

  • Près de la moitié des heures de cours est consacrée aux activités pratiques.
Prérequis
  • Aucune expérience préalable en secourisme n’est requise.

  • Les participants doivent être en bonne condition physique.
Évaluation
Les connaissances et habiletés des participants sont évaluées tout au long de la formation au moyen de sessions de révision, de tests et examens, et d’une évaluation continue de l’acquisition des habiletés. Les connaissances et habiletés des participants sont également évaluées la dernière journée de la formation lors d’un examen à choix multiples.
Certification
L’attestation est valable pendant  trois ans . SIRIUSMEDx émet une certification numérique reconnaissant votre apprentissage.
Requalification

Pour vous requalifier, il faut suivre, avant l'expiration de votre certification :

  • Secourisme en régions isolées (SRI-20h)
  • OU
  • Recertification hybride secourisme avancé en régions isolées
  • OU
  • Secourisme avancé en régions isolées (SARI-40h)